Membership Report: Gears and Beers

Cincy region had a great time as sponsor for the Gears and Beers at Mad Tree Brewery on June 3rd. Our club donation was delivered to Give Back Cincinnati, one of Mad Tree’s favorite charities.
We had our Cincyscca Booth setup as well as about 10 of the members cars. We gave out about 400 flyers and schedules.

If you would like to help out with advertising for the club please contact Brian at Hope to see you soon at the next SCCA social event at Alms Park on August 25th.

Solo Safety Steward and Junior Driver Program Training

Doug Gill, SCCA Competition Manager, has announced the 2018 Training Schedule for SSS and JDP.

This Schedule will be up on SoloMatters facebook page, and
Please contact Doug via email ( if you have any questions.

2018 Solo Safety Steward training Webinars Schedule – 1+ Hour

Date Start by Time Zone Registration
EST CST MST PST Alaska Hawaii
03/20 (Tues) 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM 5:00PM 4:00PM link
05/10 (Thur) 11:00PM 10:00PM 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM link
07/09 (Mon) 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM 5:00PM 4:00PM 3:00PM link
09/13 (Thur) 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM 5:00PM 4:00PM link

2018 Junior Driver Program training Webinars Schedule – 2+ hours

Date Start by Time Zone Registration
EST CST MST PST Alaska Hawaii
03/05 (Mon) 10:00PM 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM 5:00PM link
03/29 (Thur) 11:00PM 10:00PM 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM link
04/02 (Mon) 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM 5:00PM 4:00PM 3:00PM link
06/14 (Thur) 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM 5:00PM 4:00PM link
08/06 (Mon) 10:00PM 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM 5:00PM link
10/29 (Mon) 11:00PM 10:00PM 9:00PM 8:00PM 7:00PM 6:00PM link

TireRack Street Survival

On Saturday, August 19, Cincinnati Region SCCA partnering with the City of Oxford and Miami University to hosted the TireRack Street Survival.

We had 9 students attended this special driving school designed for newly licensed driver to learn car control and awareness in real life situations. Students went through emergency stopping practice, lane change, skidpad, tight S-curves, and slalom exercises, first to learn their car’s capabilities and to gain confidence, and then to learn the danger of distracted driving; having their cellphone in their hands.

During lunch time, we brought in a full-size semi and parked several cars around it and had each student (as well as us instructors!) get in the cab and “see” how many cars they couldn’t see, to raise awareness when driving near semis. Airbag detonation was another fun awareness experience. This explosive exercise reinforced the fact that these are serious devices that while increasing crash safety, can also cause harm if not respected.

We appreciate all the volunteer instructors and course workers for making this valuable experience possible for the teen drivers. Also, special thanks to Jason Evans and Dart Logistics for providing an amazing truck for the semi demonstration. Finally, we would like to thank City of Oxford, MUPD, OPD, SCCA, BMWCCA and the TireRack Street Survival program for all of their efforts in making our event a success, and we hope that we can work with everyone in the future to make subsequent events even better.

Emergency lane change exercise
Semi blindspot awareness exercise
Thanks to Jason Evans and Dirt Logistics for the beautiful truck and driver awareness trailer!

TireRack Street Survival

Cincinnati SCCA is partnering with City of Oxford and Miami University to host TireRack Street Survival, on August 19th at Millett Hall Parking in Oxford.

If you have teen drivers who just acquire drivers license, or have Temps and learning how to drive, this is a great opportunity for them to learn basics of the car control!
Registration is currently open on their website: Please scroll down and select Miami University Millett Hall.

Also we are looking for instructors and event staff volunteers. Please fill this online signup form or contact Tact Takagi via email ““, if interested. This is part of our ongoing efforts to reach out to our local community, and we appreciate any help!

The primary emphasis of the Tire Rack Street Survival® is a “hands-on” driving experience in real-world situations! We use your own car to teach you about its handling limits and how you can control them. The students will become more observant of the traffic situation they find themselves in. They will learn to look far enough ahead to anticipate unwise actions of other drivers. As the students master the application of physics to drive their cars, they will make fewer unwise driving actions themselves. They will understand why they should always wear their own seatbelts, and why they should insist that their passengers wear seatbelts, too.

It’s about more than driving – it’s about LIVING!

Three parents, including Scott Goodyear, former Indy Car Champion, share their perspectives in this video.

All Schools $75.

See our FAQ page at:

Any questions after reviewing the FAQ page call Tim Beechuk, National Program Manager, @ 864.438.2060 (8 am – 8 pm EST)

RallyCross News

The 2017 RallyCross season is about begin with our sean opener on Saturday, April 29th!
In conjuction with Western Ohio Region and Ohio Valley Region SCCA, We have 7 events currently scheduled and may add more events as the season unfolds.
Cincinati region members will be competing for our own Cincy region cup, you must attend four of the seven events to be eligible!
Also winning 5 events in your class at Bitzer RallyCross you’ll be an “ace” and be awarded the coveted
“Charles Eugene Jules Marie Nungesser Ace Award” and served with an appropiate French Libation!
Hope to see you at the events! If you have any questions about how to begin your journey into RallyCross please contact me at or join the facebook groups at
WOR RallyCross on Facebook
OVR RallyCross on Facebook
Thank You! See you at the races!


Reminder! March meeting tonight @ 8pm and HUGE $1 T-Shirt Sale!!

Just a quick reminder that it is the 3rd Tuesday of the month! So that means its time for our March General Meeting tonight at 8pm at the Mill Race Banquet Center (1515 W Sharon Rd, Cincinnati OH 45240)! As announced at our last meeting, we will have a HUGE $1 T-Shirt Sale tonight of t-shirts from previous Cincinnati SCCA racing events! This is a great opportunity to stock up on some T-shirts or custom rags for your garage! For only a dollar each! Please bring singles $$ as change will be limited.
We will also be talking about the upcoming Rally and SOLO events! Spring is HERE!

See you soon!

2017 Region Leadership

In November we held our annual election of Club directors and officers. Each year all officer positions and half of the at-large director positions are up for election.

The Region officers and directors for 2017 are:

Chairman of the Board Bill Neimeyer, Jr.
Region Executive Tony Brown
Assistant Region Executive E.B. Lunken
Treasurer Shari McCoy
Secretary Bryan Schafer
Directors Scott Bitzer
Jim Clark
Jeff Leowe
Bill Stevens
Tact Takagi
Brian Walker

The board thanks outgoing treasurer, Christy Graham, and outgoing directors Chase Heikkila and Nathan Roberts for their outstanding service to the Region. 

Our program leaders for the 2017 season are:

Road Race Brian Walker
Road Rally Christy Graham
Rally Cross Scott Bitzer
Autocross Crissy & Kent Weaver

We look forward to serving you, our members. Our board and membership meet monthly and we’d love to hear from you. Please attend a meeting and let us know what’s on your mind. Board and membership meetings are generally the third Tuesday of every month. Check the website for meeting time and location.

In addition, our programs hold planning meetings at various times throughout the year. If you are interested in helping with one of our programs please contact a program leader or member of the board.